10 Fascinating Facts About CSK That Even Its Hater Would Love To Know –


Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has been one of the most successful franchises in the history of IPL. With three IPL titles in their ten years of participation, the Chennai-based franchise has achieved a lot of glory under the captaincy of Dhoni.

Being such a commendable franchise there are a lot of interesting facts about this team that has usually slipped under the hood. Below are 10 such facts about Chennai Super Kings:

1- Most Fair Play awards for an IPL franchise

With MS Dhoni as their skipper and Stephen Fleming as the coach, CSK have some of the calmest characters in their ranks. Hence, it comes as no surprise that they have won the most number of Fair Play Awards as a team. CSK have bagged that award 6 times. They won it in 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015.

2- Most wins under a single captain in the IPL

01 47 06 ms dhoni fb 768x427 1

CSK owe a lot of credit to their skipper, MS Dhoni. He was picked up by the franchise at the 2008 auction and was handed the reins of the franchise. Come 2020 and MSD is still leading the team. CSK are the only team that haven’t seen a shift of captaincy over the 11 seasons that have been played. Moreover, MS Dhoni holds the record for the most successful IPL captain. He has registered 99 IPL wins while captaining the side.

3- Most appearances in an IPL final

01 47 09 882306 xwnwhbbtwr 1526703223 768x403 1

CSK holds the record to play the highest number of IPL finals. CSK has been the only team to reach IPL finals eight times, which is highest among all the teams.

4- Most Purple Cap holders for a team

01 47 12 cDsLNjmI 768x432 1

The ‘Men in Yellow’ is the only team to win the Purple Cap award for most wickets on three consecutive occasions in the IPL history. In 2013, Dwayne Bravo became the first CSK player to win the prestigious Purple Cap. In the next two years, CSK managed to retain the Purple Cap with Mohit Sharma and Bravo winning it in the respective years. And in 2019, Imran Tahir picked most IPL wickets to bag the Purple Cap for Chennai.

5- Only team to successfully defend their IPL title

01 47 15 Picture Courtsey Indiatoday.in 1

CSK are the only team to have retained the IPL trophy. They claimed their first title in 2010 when they beat the Mumbai Indians. In 2011, the defending champions replicated their feat by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore. No other team has, as of now, successfully defended the title.

6- First team to win all home matches in a single IPL season

01 47 19 RON 4756 768x512 1

In the 2011 edition of the Indian Premier League, CSK won all their matches at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, becoming the first team in the history of the league to have a 100% win record at home in a single season.

7- Highest win percentage for an IPL franchise

01 47 22 msd11042019 0 768x432 1

CSK has won the highest number of matches in IPL and thus it has the highest win percentage among all the teams in the IPL. CSK have played 165 games, out of which they have won 100, boasting an impressive win percentage of 61.28. 

8- Lowest score defended by any team in the IPL

01 47 26 KXIP vs CSK 1200x675 1

In 2009, all plauers of CSK bundled out for 116 in a match against Kings XI Punjab. However, they still managed to win that game by 24 runs as Punjab could only score 92 runs in their allotted 20 overs. The game holds a historical significance as it happens to be the lowest total defended in IPL history.

9- Most wickets in an IPL edition for a bowler

01 47 29 dwayne bravo 1200 768x512 1

Dwayne Bravo holds the record for taking the highest number of individual wickets in a single IPL season. Bravo took a total of 32 wickets in the 2013 IPL season.

10- Most consecutive appearances for the same IPL franchise

01 47 32 raina dhoni 759

Suresh Raina of CSK has played the highest number of consecutive matches in the IPL. He has played 158 consecutive matches in the IPL.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here